Thursday, May 28, 2009

Another Update from the Mother City

So on Monday it's going to be 6-months since I arrived back in Cape Town. So much has happened, yet at the same time some things still feel as though they're up in the air. I haven't blogged lately because my internet access has been limited so getting to an internet connection and taking the time to put a few thoughts in writing has not been at the top of my prioriy list, but I think it should definitely be a bit closer to the top.

So my teaching gig has just about run it's course for now. There's aren't many students arriving this time of year and there are fewer study year students (those who spend 6+ months here at a time) this year than there usually are. So what am I doing with my time. There's a project I'm working on (yes, I'm going to continue being a bit secretive regatrding what it is) but I'm also looking for some part-time work etc just to pay the bills. Now and then I get a few classes to teach and I'm giving entrepeneurship a shot by starting up a small business offering an admin and book-keeping service to small business who can't afford to employ someone full-time. Even though I'm not working I somehow find myself on the go all the time with things to go and places to be. While that's not necesarily a bad thing those things don't pay the bills.

But don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining about my lot in life at the moment. I'm enjoying the freedom that this space ios affording me and I'm making the most out of it for now. That's all for now folks. Thanks for reading.

PS: I'm often asked if I'm back in South Africa "for good" or if I plan on travelling again. All I'll say is that I'm here now and I have no idea what tomorrow holds... What more can I say?

1 comment:

freshrain24 said...

Hey JP, I'm glad I check this- I never am on here anymore (my loss, I know) Thats great to hear that you're still optimistic about stuff.
Speaking of teaching- I'm waiting to hear about a teaching position I've applied for :)
Best of luck to you, ya GM :)